Cover, Title Page and End Pages.


I have been looking into getting a block engraved with the intention to great gold embossing on the cover. After a lot of messing around I came up with this design. I like it because at first glance you might think it’s a traditional fish scale pattern but when you look closely you realise it has no pattern, it’s nonsense. I don’t really know much about hot foil blocking so this may not work but the man at Studio Tone told me it was the same price for any block within 25x25cm so I kind of went for it.I found some inspirational uses of foil online .

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am thinking of using the same pattern on the end papers but in a pale yellow on light blue. These colours seem quite old fashioned to me. The title pages were made using imagery that I had screen printed.

 

Leave a Reply

